Australians will be able to fly to Europe from tomorrow as borders open

From tomorrow, Australians will be able to travel to countries who are part of the European Union as borders start to open following the coronavirus pandemic.

The European Union is preparing to let travellers from 14 countries, including Australia, to enter and leave their countries from July 1.

The move comes even though there has been a sharp rise in global coronavirus cases.

However, as Australians are banned from travelling overseas currently, we will have to wait a while longer before we can head off on holiday, but there are exemptions for travel which include compassionate care.

This means it will be easier for any Australian who has to travel across the world urgently for family reasons to enter and leave Europe.

The EU will continue to ban travellers from the US and most other countries beyond July 1 but countries that are on the list of approved travellers include Australia, New Zealand, Canada and Thailand. 

The agreement comes three months after the European Union, plus Switzerland, Norway and Iceland, closed their external borders to all non-essential travel due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Global coronavirus infections surpassed 10 million cases on Monday.

Also on LifeStyle: 

> Coles rocked by Coronavirus cases

> Italian town offers homes for sale for $1

> Sicily offers cheaps deals to holiday in country!

Want more? We thought you might like this video.

Like this artice? Subscribe to our newsletter to get more articles like this delivered striaght to your inbox.

By registering you agree to our Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Privacy Notice


Sign Out

Join the Conversation

Please note, LifeStyle cannot respond to all comments posted in our comments feed. If you have a comment or query you would like LifeStyle to respond to, please use our feedback form.