Star Signs 101

If you're just starting out in your exploration of astrology, it's useful to get back-to-basics and understand what each star sign represents. Our astrologer Lisa Stardust breaks it down.

Star signs represent the month in which you were born and all star signs are categorised by their planetary rulers, which dictate how they act.

Aries (March 21 - April 19)

Ruled by Mars, Aries is the first sign of the zodiac, known as the initiator. Much like the first born of a family, these rams lead by example and always strive to be not only the first, but the best, at everything they do.

Taurus (April 20 - May 20)

The Bull is one of two signs ruled by Venus and represents the earthy, physical, sensual influence of the planet of love and money. Taurus is the creative hard worker of the zodiac, who uses their immense energy to make beautiful things for the world to admire.

Gemini (May 21 - June 20)

Ruled by the winged messenger, Mercury, the twins are the only dual sign, meaning they are two separate entities bound together as a symbol. Known for their dualistic and chatty nature, the twins are master communicators.

Cancer (June 21 - July 22)

Ruled by the Moon, the crabs tend to use their intuition to guide them in the darkest times. Looking at the world sideways and through night vision allows the crab to be protective and use their sensitivities to understand the world.

Leo (July 23 - August 22)

The Sun rules the friendly, prideful Lion, whose generous, loyal, and artistic nature is admired by all. They are ruled by the ego with the sun as their planet, and so they tend to instinctively put themselves first— a thing others can learn from.

Virgo (August 23 - September 22)

As the fair maiden who looks down on Earth from a cloud, this Winged messenger (Mercury) uses its analytical nature to understand and observe the world around them. Virgos are not as concerned with virginity as they are with purification.

Libra (September 23 - October 22)

As the second sign ruled by, Venus, Librans (an Air sign) are represented by the scales of Justice. They are concerned with keeping a fair balance in areas concerning love and money. They are the only sign whose symbol is inanimate, so they can truly be objective.

Scorpio (October 23 - November 21)

As a water sign ruled by Mars, Scorpios are known to carry out anything they set their minds and hearts to doing through their undying dedication and passion. They are almost eerily intuitive and intensely loyal.

Sagittarius (November 22 - December 21)

The Archer is ruled by Jupiter, the planet of expansion. Sagittarius likes to travel the world, learn new philosophies, try exotic flavours, and tends to have a flair for gambling in all areas of life. They combine exploration with wisdom.

Capricorn (December 22 - January 19)

The hardworking sea-goat ruled by taskmaster Saturn has a practical and mature sensibility around work and relationships. They are devoted to making sure everyone and everything in their lives is taken care of, and they push others to succeed.

Aquarius (January 20 to February 18)

As an air sign ruled by Saturn, the cup-bearers are known to question the limits and bounds of society through innovative and humanitarian activism. They are the visionaries who work on the plans of information rather than emotion

Pisces (February 19 to March 20)

Ruled by Jupiter, the fish represents the fruits of the imagination. They are the creative visionaries of the zodiac, deeply empathic to the point of being psychic and staunchly reliant on intuition rather than facts.

Want more? We thought you might like this video.

Like this artice? Subscribe to our newsletter to get more articles like this delivered striaght to your inbox.

By registering you agree to our Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Privacy Notice


Sign Out

Join the Conversation

Please note, LifeStyle cannot respond to all comments posted in our comments feed. If you have a comment or query you would like LifeStyle to respond to, please use our feedback form.