Beginner's Guide to Astrology

Anyone can gain greater personal understanding with Astrology. It affects our daily lives, just as the moon influences the tides. Learn more in this overview from Kelli Fox. 

Astrology provides you with tools that can help you make the best and most informed decisions about life.  It is like a map for your soul that offers insights into the future, and reveals the tendencies, quirks, and truths about human nature, relationships, career choices and the world at large.  Astrology may be used as a guide for daily living, as well as for forecasting and predictions.

Astrology is a complex system that dates back to the third Millennium B.C.  It is based on celestial observations and correlating events.  Astrology helped lay the foundation for the development of astronomy.  It has influenced belief systems and even entire cultures.  The many components of astrology, such as signs, planets and aspects, are what make it a complex system.  It can be rather confusing until you begin to understand the basics.  The many components are considered when forming accurate readings of astrological transitions and how they relate to each individual.  The more you learn, the better you'll be able to apply astrology's wisdom to your own life.

For starters, your birth chart is created for the precise moment that you were born.  At that time, each planet (Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto), the Sun and the Moon were in measurable positions in the sky that is unique to your individual birth chart.  Your birth chart reveals important insights about your personality, career choices, romantic potential, and much more.

The position of each planet in the 12 signs of the Zodiac reveals to astrologers the tone of each planet's specific energy, and the effect of that placement in your chart. The ways in which planets interact with each other also reveal important influences.  With a little help from the Zodiac, you can gain insight into your individual astrological characteristics and influences.  For example, if you have a lot of Sagittarius in your birth chart, you'll know that you are an outspoken trailblazer that needs a lot of freedom.  However, if you have a lot of Cancer in your birth chart, you may be intuitive and shy, and can also be talkative and family oriented.

There are 12 Houses that correlate with the 12 Signs.  Each Sign and House is ruled by a planet, the Sun, or the Moon.  For instance, Libra is the second sign which is ruled by Venus, and Venus also rules the second House.  The Signs represent the individual qualities and characteristics of a person, while Houses represent the qualities and characteristics of the environment in which a planet resides, transits or aspects.

The Zodiac is further divided into groupings of the four natural elements (Fire, Earth, Air and Water).  Each of the signs in the groupings share basic characteristics.  Fire Signs (Aries, Leo or Sagittarius) are essentially warmhearted, independent thinkers.  Earth signs (Taurus, Virgo or Capricorn) are practical and down-to-earth.  Air Signs (Gemini, Libra or Aquarius) are cerebral and expressive, and Water signs (Cancer, Scorpio or Pisces) are intuitive and nurturing.

Get your Daily Horocopes or ask Kelli Fox a question here

Want more? We thought you might like this video.


Sign Out

Join the Conversation

Please note, LifeStyle cannot respond to all comments posted in our comments feed. If you have a comment or query you would like LifeStyle to respond to, please use our feedback form.